Customer Reviews

Of course we think that our tours are outstanding! But don't just take our word for it. See what our guests are saying:

-----------------

"A pleasant day-trip to Salzburg"  pwtor
TripAdvisor,  October 2017

We had a polite, timely, and helpful driver (Pierre) in the comfortable Mercedes van that picked us up in Vienna. The weather was favourable, and the other people on the trip were also pleasant - these will always help an occasion do well. In Salzburg, we had a separate tour guide, Monika, that gave us maps, provided helpful orientation tips for the pick-up location, and took us around the beautiful city. She pointed out different types of shops, food stalls, and sights that might be of interest when we were on the solo (unguided) portion of our afternoon. It's worth noting that, as with most tours we have experienced in Europe, the guide will start the tour at the drop-off/pick-up point, but will end the tour at another location. You therefore have to find your way back. It wasn't hard, thanks to the navigation tips Monika provided. There's lots to see and do, whatever your likes. It was an enjoyable day. We got dropped off at our hotels in Vienna around 8pm. This tour would be enjoyable for couples, families with older kids, and singles.

-----------------

"the best trip inVienna"  Eponine
Website,  September 2017

The whole arrangement was excellent. From the pick-up to the end of this trip. I was amazed by the highway short stop, a nice and full breakfast was waiting there. Also, the stop at the St. Gilgen lake and the moon lake . Peaceful and beautiful. The Salzburg was definitely the highlight of this trip. The tour guide was knowledgeable to the best of this small town. If you plan to Vienna, the trip will be a must-attend trip I will recommend.

-----------------

"Day trip to Salzburg from Vienna"  Tammy
Website,  September 2017

Great trip to Salzburg from Vienna. Our guides Pierre and Naomi were friendly and fantastic. Very comfortable and enjoyable journey via stunning lakes and Austrian villages. Salzburg itself is a beautiful and interesting city. I highly recommend this trip.

-----------------

"Salzburg "  Richard K
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

Very professional/knowledgeable driver/guide to/from Salzburg and the separate guide in Salzburg. We enjoyed the trip. Only issue was that several IPads in the van did not function properly.

-----------------

"Fantastic day trip to Salzburg"  Meg K
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

Highly recommend this trip. Our guide Vanya was knowledgeable and very friendly. In Salzburg, Naomi was also very good. The day out was very long and tiring, particularly due to rain and traffic delays getting back to Vienna. Still it was a memorable day out and enjoyed it very much, even with the rain!

-----------------

"Trip to Mauthausen"  Sue Mayer
Website,  August 2017

Vanya was our driver and he was very friendly and nice. During our drive, he pointed out different things on our trip. It made our time easy and fun. He was very personable and I would definitely recommend him.

-----------------

"Salzburg Aldstadt"  Blondiekb
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

Great driver Hansen and our guide in Salzburg David was wonderful. Very comfortable Mercedes van with water provided. Toured the lakes region with 2 other wonderful stops. Bathroom stops and coffee snack stops also at wonderful roadside diner. Overall very well organized with excellent supervision.

-----------------

"Moving and Memorable Experience"  RS L
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

This tour was very well done and enjoyable although it is such a sad and disturbing time of our history. The guide was informative, timely and pleasant. The video that we watched before arriving at the concentration was well done and helped to set the tone. The time given to tour the camp was just right and I appreciated that we did that on our own with a listening guide.

-----------------

"Mauthausen trip from Vienna"  PaulaL
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

Pierre was our driver for the day, and we were in a small van, just 7 people in addition to Pierre. I appreciate small groups. I can understand how this is not a tour for everyone, but I felt as though I must glimpse into the inhumane world of these types of Prison Camps. I was overwhelmed with sadness, helplessness, and other emotions. The individual countries' monuments are spectacular. Please, if you go, take the time to read the plaques and the meanings behind each of the sculptures. The audio self-tour is very well done- the narrations are clear, comprehensive, and intelligible. Take your time, listen to each stop, and you will leave changed. I did. Remember to carry tissues- I used all I had to wipe my tears. I was very satisfied with the tour, the driver, and this soul-altering experience.

-----------------

"Private day trip was great!"  John O
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

We hired a friendly multilingual driver Ben, from Vienna à la carte, who picked us up at the hotel, drove us to Herrnbaumgarten, and waited several hours while we visited the Nonseum (see my separate review of it). Then Ben drove us back to the hotel. Along the way we had excellent conversation, and learned a lot about Austria. Ben was on time, courteous, knowledgeable, flexible, and friendly.

-----------------

"Excellent customizable private walking tour"  jneus
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

I rarely hire private guides but we were in Vienna for only a day and a half and thought a walking tour of the historic city centre would be efficient. We were correct. Susanne with Vienna A La Carte was at our hotel on time, ready to customize to our specific interests (e.g., let's skip the shopping areas and focus more on history and art), was knowledgeable and friendly and thoughtful. I highly recommend this option - a 2.5 hour walking tour with a local expert. It is, however, not particularly inexpensive at 200+ Euros (perhaps spread over three or four people is better but not sure if the price rises as one adds people).

-----------------

"Mauthausen"  Megen V
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

This was an incredible moment in my life and time I will never forget! The driver was very entertaining and insightful during the entire trip. He was very courteous of everyone's needs and explained everything in great detail. Just his insight was worth the trip. When we got there, we were able to start our journey right away with plenty of bathroom breaks. We were able to go at our own pace. I had my dad with me who is 80 years old and we had plenty of time to see all the sites. It is a place I recommend everyone to go if they have a chance and this is the perfect company to take you on this momentous journey.

-----------------

"Very special day in and around Salzburg"  Jessie B
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

We had a great time on our day trip to Salzburg. Our guide, Markus, was friendly, funny, knowledgable, and an excellent driver. We saw a new side of Austria - traveling off the highway to see beautiful lakes and charming towns was so special. The tour in Salzburg was very helpful to orient us, and the free time was plenty to see the sights we wanted to and grab some lunch. And we got back in time for dinner in Vienna. Highly recommended, one of the best days of our trip.

-----------------

"Mauthausen - Moving, very interesting tour"  tracyaearl
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

The trip to the concentration camp was informative and interesting. Our tour guide, Vanya, was very personable, and he did a great job telling us about Vienna and the surrounding countryside. Once there, the audio tour was educational, and it balanced the sadness of the camp itself

-----------------

"Wonderful day trip"  Jessie Behm
Website,  September 2017

We had a great time on our day trip to Salzburg. Our guide, Markus, was friendly, funny, knowledgable, and an excellent driver. We saw a new side of Austria - traveling off the highway to see beautiful lakes and charming towns was so special. The tour in Salzburg was very helpful to orient us, and the free time was plenty to see the sights we wanted to and grab some lunch. And we got back in time for dinner in Vienna. Highly recommended, one of the best days of our trip.

-----------------

"A great trip to Salzburg" Andy V
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

Interesting excursion and great trip to Salzburg. Comfortable ride from Vienna with stops at beautiful mountain lakes. Very knowledgeable tour guides both on the road and in the city of Salzburg. And if you love "The Sound of Music" you will love it even more.

-----------------

"Best excursion ever!" Celeste
TripAdvisor,  September 2017

This tour was truly worth every penny. Brenda was such a great tour guide! Funny and knowledgeable, she answered every question, and told some great stories. We were only there for the day yet we were able to see everything we wanted and more. Would definitely book again. Highly recommended!

-----------------

"Brilliant day trip to Salzberg" Clare and Alyson
Website,  September 2017

We had the best day in Salzberg of our long weekend in Austria with Ben and Julia and Vienna A La Carte, they were both friendly, helpful and knowledgable. We would definitely recommend this company and trip to others.

-----------------

"Worth the money" Frank Miall
Website,  September 2017

Looked at booking this else way, approximately £50 cheaper each person but canceled at last minute for this one,so glad I did! Big thank you to tom (ton)our driver who was very knowledgeable and true gent! We went through breath taking views of Austria to give us good photos , memories of a life time. We got to Salzburg where sound of music was filmed and brought the film alive as we watch it on the way back on iPad s and wifi on minibus after seeing all the spots of the film in real life.The history of the town and Mozart was part of it too , the local tour guide that met us and time to look about ,was all prefectly well timed, professional and first class customer service. Thank you so much for rounding our four days stay in Vienna off.

-----------------

"Salzburg small group trip from Vienna" Adrian and Mariella
Website,  August 2017

We met our driver/tour leader Tom at 715am and left Vienna by 730am. Small group of eight people. Individual luxury seats with individual iPad, free onboard internet, HD headphones and drink holder. Free water on board. Tom gave us a detailed commentary as we left Vienna and travelled to Salzburg. We stopped for short coffee break and two further lakeside stops for scenic photography and some site seeing. Arrived on time in Salzburg at 1230. We were greeted by local tour guide. She took us for walking tour of city. She gave us an excellent and detailed commentary as we walked along; her commentary included details regarding local history and architecture as well as details regarding Sound of Music movie. She left us at 2pm. We had free time until 430pm. We had enough time to take the funicular to the castle; had lunch and ample time to go around the castle, take the funicular back to town, do some shopping and go back to meet our group by 430pm. It took us around 3hrs to drive back to Vienna, during which time we could enjoy watching Sound of Music on the iPad available to each passenger. We were driven back to our hotel. A great and memorable day out! Excellent tour leader and Salzburg tour guide. Highly recommended!

-----------------

"Great tour" no name
Website,  August 2017

I We did the private history and art city tour of Vienna as well as the private walking tour of Vienna's Old town back to back on the same day. Both tours were great and our tour guide Lydia was fun. She took us all around Vienna and showed us all of the important and historical sights of the city as well as where to find a good meal. The length was a bit short and wished we had more time. Overall highly recommended.

-----------------

"Salzburg is stunning! It sells itself! The Alps region too!!" shemovesacn
TripAdvisor,  August 2017

I second many of the reviews. A top notch tour! Vania was friendly and knowledgeable, Naomi too...our Salzburg tour guide. Wifi made the trip fill in the travel time gaps. A luxury tour without the big group annoyances. Definitely go up the lift to the city lookout!!! Enjoy!

-----------------

"A day to remember - Small group tour to Salzburg" Maryse
TripAdvisor,  August 2017

My mother, my 13 years old daughter and I booked a one day small group tour to Salzburg with Vienna A La Carte. The 8 passengers mini-bus is comfortable and has good Wi-Fi connection. That day, there were only the 3 of us so it became a private tour! Our driver to Salzburg, Pierre , was very thoughtful and considerate. He took us to beautiful lakes along the road and we stopped in the nice little village of St Gilge where Mozart's mother and sister used to live. Although the tour was in English, our professional guide in Salzburg , Gabi, realised that my mother spoke only French so the tour was given in French, because we were only the 3 of us in the group. She was very interesting and adapted her tour to keep my teenager focused. We loved our day but would have preferred to stay overnight to Salzburg to appreciate it even more. I highly recommend this fantastic Vienna A La Carte small group tour to Salzburg.

-----------------

"Visita en pequeños grupos al memorial de Mauthausen" Thais B
TripAdvisor,  Julio 2017

Muy buena experiencia con Vienna a la carte! Muy puntuales, el camino hasta el campo muy ameno y entretenido, gracias a las explicaciones del guía, además de cómodo por el tipo de vehículo (teníamos tablets, wifi, agua fría i aire acondicionado). Una vez en el memorial el guía nos ayudo con las entradas y audioguias en los diferentes idiomas y nos dejó libertad para ver el campo por nuestra cuenta. Esto nos permitió pararnos dónde más nos interesaba y pasar más tiempo en las diferentes áreas según nos convenía a cada uno. Después de 3 horas viendo el memorial con calma, fuimos a comer a un sitio muy cercano con comida variada y nos pusimos rumbo de vuelta a Vienna!

-----------------

"Good tour if you are time constrained